Personal tools
You are here: Home News Archive Africa Science Leadership Program announces inaugural fellows

Africa Science Leadership Program announces inaugural fellows

Berlin, 9 June 2015 - Twenty outstanding scientists from all major regions within Africa will participate in the inaugural Africa Science Leadership Program (ASLP). The scientists represent basic and applied sciences, and span a wide variety of disciplines including the social sciences and humanities. Among them are six members and one alumnus of the Global Young Academy (GYA).

African Science Leadership Program - Inaugural Fellows at the start of the program at University of Pretoria, South Africa


The program has just started on 7 June with a week-long workshop on ‘Leading a new paradigm for African Science’. The fellows will dive deeply into topics such as collective leadership and science communication. Leaders including Prof. Cheryl de la Rey – Rector and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Pretoria – and Sarah Wild – Science Editor of the Mail & Guardian – and others will join the fellows for interactive sessions. The workshop will be followed by a year of application and mentorship, with a follow-up workshop planned for April 2016.

“We are excited about this unique initiative that will support early to mid-career African academics in developing leadership skills,” said Eva Alisic, Co-Chair of the Global Young Academy (GYA).

“The program will set an example for similar programs on the continent and elsewhere to follow, to prepare the next generation of scientists for a changing paradigm in science – more interdisciplinary, more globally connected and more relevant than ever before,” added Professor Bernard Slippers, project leader from the University of Pretoria and past co-chair of the Global Young Academy.


Asst Prof Binyam Mendisu Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia
Dr Mariamawit Yeshak Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia
Dr Lydia Aziato University of Ghana, Ghana
Dr Vincent Logah Kwame Nkrumah University of Science & Technology, Ghana
Dr Fridah Kanana Kenyatta University, Kenya
Dr Vidushi Neergheen-Bhujun University of Mauritius, Mauritius
Dr Abdeslam Badre Mohammed V University, Morocco
Dr Jose Fafetine Eduardo Mondlane University, Mozambique
Dr Etinosa Igbinosa University of Benin, Nigeria
Dr Abidemi Akindele University of Lagos, Nigeria
Assoc Prof Emmanuel Unuabonah Redeemer's University, Nigeria
Dr Eshchar Mizrachi University of Pretoria, South Africa
Prof Joleen Steyn-Kotze Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University, South Africa
Dr Salerwe Mosebi Mintek, South Africa
Assoc Prof Olubukola Babalola North West University, South Africa/Nigeria
Dr Surette Van Staden University of Pretoria, South Africa
Dr Connie Nshemereierwe Martyrs University, Uganda
Dr Alice Matimba University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe
Assoc Prof Dexter Tagwireyi University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe
Dr Franscisca Mutapi University of Edinburgh, Scotland/Zimbabwe


The Africa Science Leadership Program is run by the University of Pretoria in partnership with the Global Young Academy, and is funded by the Robert Bosch Foundation. It involves much collaboration, including with the Leopold Leadership Program at Stanford University and the specialist facilitation company KnowInnovation.



Learn more about the ASLP at:


For more information about the partners of the program visit the website of

University of Pretoria


Robert Bosch Stiftung

Leopold Leadership Program



Download the full News Release as PDF.